30 October 2019

Pearse Walsh Medal Award 2019: Winner Unveiled

25th October 2019

This year’s Pearse Walsh Medal Award winner is Dr. Sinead Brennan for her research entitled “Leadership Development through a Constructive Lens”.

Dr. Sinead Brennan is Director of HR, OD & Learning at the National Treasury Management Agency (NTMA) and is the first ever winner who is not a full-time academic candidate.

Sinead’s thesis is an impressive study of leadership in a financial services company, which demonstrates practical application and innovativeness in transferring learning in organisations.

Sinead will also receive a financial bursary of €1,000 from Harvest to support her ongoing study and research and will have the opportunity to present her research findings to an audience of Harvest clients at a future Harvest and DCU client breakfast event.

The other shortlisted finalists were:

  • Catherine Faherty, for “Issues of Trust in Intra-Organisations”
  • Michael Isichei, for “Cultural Identification and Global Mobility”
  • Roisin Lyons, for “An Investigation of Factors that Influence Student and Team Outcomes in Entrepreneurship Education”

Each of the short-listed finalists will receive Highly Commended Certificates to recognise their achievement.

The four shortlisted finalists were interviewed by the judges: Joyce Walsh, Head of Leadership and Talent in Ulster Bank; Professor Edel Conway, Head of the HRM and Organisational Psychology Group at DCU Business School; and Harvest Director, Frank Rock.

Frank Rock, Head of the Judging Panel commented that: “this year’s recipient of the Pearse Walsh Medal clearly outlined the adult development stages of participants at the outset of a leadership development programme and showed how their transitions could be measured on completion of the programme. In judges’ opinion it represents a very practical piece of research that would present interesting findings and insights to Harvest clients.”

The Presentation of Pearse Walsh Medal will take place on the 8th of November 2019 at DCU Business School official graduation ceremony.

Background on the Award

Established in 2013, the Pearse Walsh Medal Award is presented to a Ph.D. student of the DCU Business School who has shown great innovation in research in the area of Human Resource Development and Organisational Behaviour.

The Pearse Walsh Medal supports Harvest ambition to bring leading edge research and thinking to our clients. The relationship with the DCU Business School demonstrates the importance how this can create real value to both the Business School and Harvest clients.

The previous winners of the Pearse Walsh Medal have been: Dr. Rachel Kidney (2014) and Dr. Steven Kilroy (2016).

Learn more about the Pearse Walsh Medal Award here

Author: Ana Tyrrell – Harvest Brand Champion – connect with her on LinkedIn.

Want to keep up to date with all the trends & insights from the world of work and learning? Follow us on LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/company/harvest-resources_2/